from Matthias Dillier

"Notepad++" for Linux

Linux

Do you use Notepad++ under Windows? Do you appreciate Notepad++ as a small, fast editor with a graphical user interface that offers many goodies and supports many languages, file formats and extensions? Then you don't have to do without it under Linux either.

Notepad++ for Windows

Notepad++ is written in C++ and the editor runs under Windows. The Notepad++ website is: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/. Notepad++ is licensed under the GPL V3 licence and can also be used freely in a commercial environment. The repository with the source code is in GitHub: https://github.com/notepad-plus-plus/notepad-plus-plus/tree/master.

Notepad++ for Linux

Notepad++ is only available for Windows, but can also be installed under Linux with Snap. Snap or Snappy is a software distribution system and package manager that comes from Ubuntu and is now available for most Linux distributions and also for Rocky Linux. There is a Snap package for Notepad++ that brings Notepad++ to Linux. Under the bonnet, Wine is used so that Notepad++ runs as a Windows application on Linux.

Installation of Snap as a prerequisite

$ sudo dnf install snapd
$ sudo systemctl enable --now snapd.socket

Installation of Notepad++ with Snap

$ sudo snap install notepad-plus-plus

Notepad++ can then, if everything has worked, be restarted with the command notepad-plus-plus can be started.

Remarks

The installation of Notepad++ with Snap under Linux brings the original to Linux. But with Wine as a substructure, Notepad++ eats up performance and uses a lot of resources. Unfortunately, this means that many of the advantages that characterise Notepad++ under Windows are lost.

For some Linux distributions and currently for Rocky Linux 9.x, the installation with Snap does not work straight away, as Wine errors occur. In this case you can try to install Wine first and then Notepad++ within Wine. This is described on the following website: https://www.makeuseof.com/how-to-install-notepad-on-linux.

Further instructions on the net, see for example:

Notepadqq

Notepadqq is a project that is independent of Notepad++, but inspired by Notepad++. Like Notepad++, Notepadqq is subject to the GPL V3 licence and can be used freely. The website of Notepadqq is: https://notepadqq.com/wp/

Installation

There are packages for Notepadqq for various Linux variants, which can be installed with the corresponding package manager. Otherwise Snap can be used, but this must first be installed as described above:

$ sudo snap install notepadqq

Under Gnome, it may still be necessary to switch off Qt session management and Wayland so that notepadqq can be started without errors. The easiest way to do this is to set an alias:

alias npqq='unset SESSION_MANAGER; DISABLE_WAYLAND=1 notepadqq &'

Notepadqq can now be started as a background process with npqq in a terminal window.

Remarks

Notepadqq runs well and stably and is easy to install. Unfortunately, the project is no longer being actively developed unless a new project manager is found.

NotepadNext

NotepadNext is a fairly young project with its first prerelease in 2019, so it may not always be stable. Caution is therefore advised when using it in critical areas.

NotepadNext is explicitly a replica of Notepad++ that runs on multiple platforms and the licence is also GPL V3. The current version 0.7 still lacks some features of Notepad++, but NotepadNext can already be used well. The documentation is somewhat sparse and still needs to be expanded.

Installation

The 'installation' is simple.

Download the AppImage file (for the current version 0.7) from: https://github.com/dail8859/NotepadNext/releases/download/v0.7/NotepadNext-v0.7-x86_64.AppImage

The file must then be given execution rights (chmod a+x NotepadNext-v0.7-x86_64.AppImage) and NotepadNext can be started with a double-click or from the command line.

Remarks

NotepadNext is being actively developed. The editor runs on Linux, Windows and MacOS. Further information can be found on the following websites, for example.

My favourites among the features of Notepad++/qq/New

  • Macros: Recording and playback of interactive inputs.
  • Select/Copy/Cut/Paste for rectangular areas: NotepadNext with + mouse or arrow keys
  • Find/Replace: in all open files, with regular expressions, with special characters
  • Hexviewer
  • Converting line endings
  • Need a folder as a workspace

Conclusion

In addition to the variants mentioned above, there are many other editors with a graphical user interface that run under Linux (Geany, VSCode, Kate, Gnome Text Editor, ...). Which one you choose usually depends on your experience and personal taste.

The Linux alternatives for Notepad++ presented above are not quite as good as the original. However, they are very useful and can make everyday work easier. My favourite is NotepadNextwhich is being actively developed and if someone is still missing something in NotepadNew ... simply programme it yourself and make a PullRequest.

Photo of author

Matthias Dillier

mathematician, computer scientist and saxophonist with many years of experience in in various areas of computer science. He is currently particularly involved in monitoring, problem analyses, log evaluations, graphics and the automation and the automation of operating processes.

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

3 × three =

Let's talk

Send us your request and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

en_GB

von Matthias Dillier

«Notepad++» für Linux

Linux

Sie benutzen Notepad++ unter Windows? Sie schätzen Notepad++ als kleinen, schnellen Editor mit einer grafischen Oberfläche, der viele Goodies bietet und viele Sprachen, Dateiformate und Erweiterungen unterstützt? Dann müssen Sie auch unter Linux nicht darauf verzichten.

Notepad++ für Windows

Notepad++ ist in C++ geschrieben und der Editor läuft unter Windows. Die Notepad++-Webseite ist: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/. Notepad++ steht unter der GPL V3 Lizenz und er kann auch im kommerziellen Umfeld frei verwendet werden. Das Repository mit dem Sourcecode ist in GitHub: https://github.com/notepad-plus-plus/notepad-plus-plus/tree/master.

Notepad++ für Linux

Notepad++ ist nur für Windows verfügbar, kann aber mit Snap auch unter Linux installiert werden. Snap oder Snappy ist ein Softwareverteilungssystem und eine Paketverwaltung, die von Ubuntu kommt und die inzwischen für die meisten Linux-Distributionen und auch für Rocky Linux verfügbar ist. Es gibt ein Snap-Paket für Notepad++, das Notepad++ auf Linux bringt. Unter der Haube wird dabei Wine verwendet, damit Notepad++ als Windowsanwendung unter Linux läuft.

Installation von Snap als Voraussetzung

$ sudo dnf install snapd
$ sudo systemctl enable --now snapd.socket

Installation von Notepad++ mit Snap

$ sudo snap install notepad-plus-plus

Notepad++ kann dann, wenn alles geklappt hat, mit dem Befehl notepad-plus-plus gestartet werden.

Bemerkungen

Die Installation von Notepad++ mit Snap unter Linux bringt das Original auf Linux. Aber mit Wine als Unterbau frisst Notepad++ Performance und es werden viele Ressourcen gebraucht. Damit gehen leider viele Vorteile verloren, die Notepad++ unter Windows kennzeichnen.

Für manche Linux-Distributionen und aktuell für Rocky Linux 9.x klappt die Installation mit Snap noch nicht auf Anhieb, da es zu Fehlern von Wine kommt. Hier kann man versuchen, erst Wine zu installieren und dann innerhalb von Wine Notepad++. Das ist auf folgender Webseite beschrieben: https://www.makeuseof.com/how-to-install-notepad-on-linux.

Weitere Anleitungen im Netz, siehe zum Beispiel:

Notepadqq

Notepadqq ist ein von Notepad++ unabhängiges Projekt, das aber von Notepad++ inspiriert ist. Notepadqq ist wie Notepad++ der GPL V3 Lizenz unterstellt und kann frei verwendet werden. Die Webseite von Notepadqq ist: https://notepadqq.com/wp/

Installation

Für diverse Linux-Varianten gibt es Pakete für Notepadqq, die mit dem entsprechenden Paketmanager installiert werden können. Ansonsten kann Snap verwendet werden, das aber wie oben beschrieben erst installiert werden muss:

$ sudo snap install notepadqq

Unter Gnome kann es noch nötig sein, Qt-Session-Management und Wayland auszuschalten, damit notepadqq ohne Fehler gestartet werden kann. Am einfachsten setzt man dazu einen Alias:

alias npqq=’unset SESSION_MANAGER; DISABLE_WAYLAND=1 notepadqq &’

Damit kann nun mit npqq in einem Terminalfenster Notepadqq als Prozess im Hintergrund gestartet werden.

Bemerkungen

Notepadqq läuft gut und stabil und kann einfach installiert werden. Leider wird das Projekt nicht mehr aktiv weiterentwickelt, ausser es findet sich ein neuer Projektverantwortlicher.

NotepadNext

NotepadNext ist ein recht junges Projekt mit erstem Prerelease 2019. Eventuell läuft noch nicht immer alles stabil. Bei der Verwendung in kritischen Bereichen ist somit etwas Vorsicht geboten.

NotepadNext ist explizit ein Nachbau von Notepad++, der auf mehreren Plattformen läuft und die Lizenz ist ebenfalls GPL V3. Bei der aktuellen Version 0.7 fehlen zwar noch einige Features von Notepad++, aber NotepadNext kann schon gut gebraucht werden. Die Dokumentation ist etwas dürftig und muss noch ausgebaut werden.

Installation

Die ‹Installation› ist simpel.

Die AppImage-Datei (für die aktuelle Version 0.7) herunterladen von: https://github.com/dail8859/NotepadNext/releases/download/v0.7/NotepadNext-v0.7-x86_64.AppImage

Dann müssen der Datei Ausführungsrechte gegeben werden (chmod a+x NotepadNext-v0.7-x86_64.AppImage) und NotepadNext kann mit einem Doppelklick oder von der Kommandozeile aus gestartet werden.

Bemerkungen

NotepadNext wird aktiv weiterentwickelt. Der Editor läuft unter Linux, Windows und MacOS. Weitere Informationen findet man z.B. auf folgenden Webseiten.

Meine Favoriten unter den Features von Notepad++/qq/New

  • Makros: Aufzeichnen und Abspielen von interaktiven Eigaben.
  • Select/Copy/Cut/Paste für rechteckige Bereiche: NotepadNext mit <Shift><Alt> + Maus oder Pfeiltasten
  • Find/Replace:  in allen offenen Dateien, mit Regular Expressions, mit Sonderzeichen
  • Hexviewer
  • Umwandeln von Zeilenenden
  • Ordner als Workspace brauchen

Fazit

Neben den erwähnten Varianten gibt es viele andere Editoren mit einer grafischen Benutzeroberfläche, die unter Linux laufen (Geany , VSCode, Kate, Gnome Text Editor, …). Welchen man wählt, hängt meist von der Erfahrung und vom persönlichen Geschmack ab.

Die oben vorgestellten Alternativen unter Linux für Notepad++ reichen alle nicht ganz ans Original heran. Sie sind aber gut brauchbar und können alltägliche Arbeiten erleichtern. Mein Favorit ist dabei NotepadNext, der aktiv weiterentwickelt wird und wenn jemandem noch etwas fehlt an NotepadNew … einfach selber programmieren und einen PullRequest machen.

Foto des Autors

Matthias Dillier

Mathematiker, Informatiker und Saxophonist mit langjähriger Erfahrung in diversen Bereichen der Informatik. Aktuell befasst er sich besonders mit Monitoring, Problemanalysen, Logauswertungen, Grafiken und der Automatisierung von Betriebsprozessen.

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

siebzehn − eine =

Let's talk

Senden Sie uns Ihr Anliegen und wir melden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen.

de_CH